Snapchat Friend Check Up reminds you to prune your friends list

Unlike many social media platforms that are mostly public, Snapchat is one that gives users control over who sees their Snaps, as most of its features are set to private by default. Several of the app’s features can only be accessed by those you’ve allowed in your Snapchat world. As part of their ongoing campaign to integrate safety and privacy education online, they are now introducing a new feature called Friend Check Up that basically reminds you to check your friends list and make sure you want them to stay there.

When you allow someone to befriend you on Snapchat, you’re giving them access not just to your posts, but possibly even things like your location. So Snapchat wants to make sure that you’re protected and that everyone you’ve added is really the ones you want to share a part of your digital and real life with. When this feature is implemented, you will receive it as a notification on your profile that says “Snapchat is for real friends”.

It will be your reminder to look at your friends list and see if you may have missed a contact or two that shouldn’t be there. You can remove that person by touching and holding their name until you see the Block / Remove Friend menu. This way, that ex-partner or “friend” that you don’t remember where you met him from can be easily removed and he won’t be able to see all your Snaps after that.

Obviously, you don’t need to wait for the Friend Check Up feature to be implemented before you start checking your friend list. But this will come in handy for those moments when you forget that you have the power to remove people from your life, at least on Snapchat. This is part of the platform’s push to make it a safer and more user-friendly place for all users. They have partnered with various organizations such as the Trevor Project for LGBTQ + youth, MindUP for parents who need help understanding their teens, and the Crisis Text Project for those seeking help with mental health issues.

Snapchat says that Friend Check Up function It will be rolled out for Android users in the coming weeks. This will be useful for those who need reminders to be more secure on a platform that can make you share personal things.

Related Articles

Latest Articles