Google to end support for Trusted Contacts but there's an alternative

Google to end support for Trusted Contacts but there’s an alternative

May not be news for users of the , with Google’s support of trusted contacts scheduled to expire soon, December 1. There were no major announcements from the tech giant about the app’s sunset, although there was a small banner on the website where they advised users that they would not be able to use it until that date. And while they are not offering a new product to replace it, they recommended using Google Maps for location-sharing functionality, which was one of the corner of the app.

The Trusted Contact App was launched about four years ago and was meant for designated, well, trusted contacts for families and loved ones. The lets you choose who your designated contacts are and has a “special place” in your digital life. You can send these contacts to your location for security purposes and the contacts can find your location and see your status, as if your battery is low or already dry.

The location-sharing feature was possibly one of the most used features of the app and it was useful for family members traveling together as they may be isolated internally or inadvertently at times. The bad news is with the app closing, it won’t be something you can use now (well, when you finally come to visit). The good news is Have an option And you probably don’t have to download any new apps anymore.

Google Maps actually has a real-time location sharing feature, where you can choose which contacts can see their exact location. You can start and stop sharing Google location anytime, so you want it not to be a problem. Of course the location sharing feature is only one of the trusted contacts that you can “transfer” to Google Maps, but since it’s the most used feature anyway, you should be fine.

Go to your profile on Google Maps and choose Location Sharing and then on your contacts choose the person you want to share it with. You can also share it with anyone who does not have a Google account by copying the link and sending it to them. It is not as intuitive as trusted contacts, but it is better than nothing.