Google Play Music library will be removed this month

In case you still have some files left in Google Play Music, this is your reminder that by the end of this month, all items in the library will already be deleted. While Google’s old music app is no longer working since last December, user data was still available to give them time to export everything before it is completely gone. Two months should have been enough time for you to get all your music and other data once and for all. But in case you haven’t already, consider this as a reminder that you should.

Originally, the deadline to export everything was the end of 2020, but Google probably thought that users would keep putting things off, so they extended it until 2021. But now 9 to 5 Google says that Google is proceeding to “remove all your data from Google Play Music”. Apparently some users have started getting the reminder that February 24, 2021 is the deadliest deadline for you to get all your data back and after that there is no more way to access and get it back.

The data they are talking about is not just the music you have uploaded to Google Play Music. This also includes purchases, playlists, stations, albums, songs, artists (the ones saved to your library), and even all of your likes / dislikes and search history. If you’ve been a user since 2011, then that’s a lot of data you’ll probably want to save and export to another music service, unless you really want to start from scratch.

If you’ve already used the transfer tool and transferred everything to YouTube Music or exported it as a file, you still have time to transfer your music library again in case you’ve made any changes or modifications since then. So basically if you still want to update all your Google Play Music stuff, you only have a couple of weeks to do it or shut up forever. Anyway, you are most likely using a new music streaming service, so this shouldn’t be a problem.

To go Google Play Music now to transfer to YouTube Music or to download your music library. You also have the option to delete your entire music library or delete your recommendation history.

Related Articles

Latest Articles