Home Sport The 11 candidates for The Best Award: no Spanish and only one...

The 11 candidates for The Best Award: no Spanish and only one LaLiga player

The 11 candidates for The Best Award: no Spanish and only one LaLiga player

Benzema is the only candidate who plays in Spain. The award, which Lewandowski won last year, will be presented on January 17 in Zurich.

Benzema celebrates a goal with Real Madrid.AFP

The stellar trio of PSG, Lionel messi, Neymar and Kylian Mbappé They are part of the list of eleven players who aspire to win the FIFA The Best award, in which they are also Karim Benzema, Robert Lewandowski, Cristiano Ronaldo and italian Jorginho, winner of the Eurocup and the Champions in 2021.

Lewandowski was the last winner of this award that distinguishes the best footballer in a calendar year, in a 2020 in which the other individual grand prize, the Ballon d’Or, was not awarded as a result of the pandemic. The list is completed by the Norwegian prodigy of Borussia Dortmund Erling haaland, the Belgian of Manchester City Kevin de Bruyne, Chelsea’s Frenchman N’Golo Kanté and Liverpool’s Egyptian striker Mohamed salah.

No Spanish footballer appears on that list, despite the fact that La Roja was a finalist in the League of Nations and a semifinalist in the last European Championship. If Spanish women are on the list for the best player of the year: Aitana Bonmatí, Jennifer Hermoso and Alexia putellas They aspire to the award, with the Champions League won by Barcelona as a great guarantee. Lluís Cortés, the coach who led Barça women to win their first Champions League, is one of the five who aspire to the award for the best coach in women’s football.

The best technician

Among the men’s soccer coaches who aspire to win the award for best coach are Lionel scaloni, which led Argentina to win the Copa Libertadores, and Diego Simeone, LaLiga winner with Atlético de Madrid. They will have to fight for the prize against other favorites like Thomas tuchel, winner of the Champions League with Chelsea, and Roberto Mancini, which led Italy to win the Eurocup. Hansi flick, Antonio Conte and Pep Guardiola they are also on that list.

In the section for the best goalkeeper, the Brazilian is nominated Alisson becker (Liverpool), the Italian Gialuigo Donnarumma (Milan / PSG), the Senegalese Edouard mendy (Chelsea), the German Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich) and the Danish Kasper schmeichel (Leicester).

The winners will be chosen by vote of “football lovers” who will be able to vote until midnight on December 10. The three finalists in each category will be announced “early January 2022” and the award ceremony will take place in Zurich on January 17.

Reference from elmundo