Home Entertainment Mar del Plata Film Festival: all winners

Mar del Plata Film Festival: all winners

Mar del Plata Film Festival: all winners

The 36th edition of the Mar del Plata Film Festival came to an end with the presentation of its Astor Piazzolla awards. After the pause imposed by the pandemic last year, with a totally virtual edition, this year, the Festival resumed face-to-face functions and activities, but also free virtual functions.

The Festival began on November 18 with the screening of Three in the drift of the creative act, the posthumous film by Pino Solanas. There was also a retrospective of the filmmaker David “Coco” Blaustein, who died in August.

In the International Competition section, the jury made up of Paz Encina, Mitra Farahani, Haden Guest, Aurelie Godet and Federico Veiroj awarded the award for Best Feature Film to Hit the Road, Panah Panahi’s Iranian film, which had passed Cannes this year without awards, but also won at the London Film Festival.

An Image Of &Quot;Hit The Road&Quot;, Winner In The International Competition Section.  Photo Festival

An image of “Hit the Road”, winner in the International Competition Section. Photo Festival

It is the debut of the son of filmmaker Jafar Panahi (director of this is not a movie), a road movie that shows the painful relationships in a family environment.

What Do We See When We Look at the Sky, by Alexandre Koberdize, received the Special Jury Prize, while the Best Direction went to Miguel Gomes and Maureen Fazendeiro for Otsoga Diaries.

The statuette for Best Performance was shared for Candela Récio by Who prevents it, by Jonás Trueba, and by Zelda Adams for Hellbenderby John Adams, Zelda Adams and Toby Poser. For its part, the award for Best Screenplay was received The Girl and the Sipderby the Swiss Ramon and Silvan Zürcher.

&Quot;Holy Spirit&Quot;, By Chema García Ibarra, Received A Special Mention.  Photo Festival

“Holy Spirit”, by Chema García Ibarra, received a special mention. Photo Festival

In the same section there were special mentions for Holy spirit, by Chema García Ibarra, and for Kim Min-Young of the Report Cardby Lim Jisun and Lee Jae-Eun.

More awards

In the Latin American Section, the jury formed by Carlos Alberto Gutiérrez, Santiago Fillol and Janaina Oliveira awarded Jesus Lopez, by Maximiliano Schonfeld, as Best Feature Film (he had passed through San Sebastián and Biarritz), already Quiet syndrome, by Elías León Siminiani, as Best Short Film. The Special Mention went to Of all the things to knowby Sofía Velázquez Núñez.

In the Argentine Section, the jurors were Mara Fortes, Simplici Ganou and Andrés Duque presented the statuette for Best Feature Film to The close ones, the documentary by María Alvarez.

&Quot;Las Cerca&Quot;, By María Alvarez, Winner In The Argentine Section.  Photo Festival

“Las cerca”, by María Alvarez, winner in the Argentine Section. Photo Festival

The Best Direction (José Martínez Suárez Award) went to Danubeby Agustina Pérez Rial. The Best Short Film was Gummedby Toia Bonino and Marcos Joubert. There was also a special mention for Noh, by Marco Canale, Juan Fernández Gebauer and Ignacio Ragone.

The In Transit section awarded Collective monologue, by Jessica Sara Rinland as Best Project, with a jury that included Paolo Benzi, Eugenia Mumenthaler and Andrea Queralt.

On the other hand, the Altered States Section delivered statuettes to A Night of Knowing Nothingby Payal Kapadia. The Special Mention was received Nuclear Familyby Travis Wilkerson and Erin Wilkerson. The jury was made up of Daniel Kasman, Camilo Restrepo and Malena Szlam.

And the Young Critic Jury, made up of Daniel Urzola, Milagros Porta, Layla Al-Azzam, Iván Zgaib, Michel Gutwilen, Rafael Plaza and Rafael Guilhem, decided to award Best Latin American First Feature Red Starby Sofía Bordenave.


Reference from clarin