Costume Designers Guild Awards 2021: The Complete Winners List

The 23rd Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards, honoring the best in film, television and short-form costume design, officially kicked off on Tuesday, with the winners announced live on Twitter amid the pandemic of ongoing coronavirus.

Hosted by Lana Condor, the awards show recognized longtime producing partners Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers with the prestigious Distinguished Contributor Award, while stars such as Rose Byrne, Andra Day, OT Fagbenle, Regina King, Carey Mulligan and Amanda Seyfried performed during the virtual ceremony.

“We had to come together as a community to support each other during these unprecedented times,” Salvador Pérez, president of the Guild of Costume Designers, IATSE Local 892, said previously in a statement. “We believe that through our work we have also been supporting our audience. We look forward to honoring the accomplishments of the costume designers and their creativity, which has transported and inspired us.”

See the full list of winners, at bold font, below. ET will update the list as the evening progresses …

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Movies

Dolittle – Jenny Beavan
Jingle Jangle: A Christmas Trip – Michael Wilkinson
Mulan – Bina Daigeler
Pinocchio – Massimo Cantini Parrini
Wonder Woman 1984 – Lindy Hemming

Excellence in Contemporary Cinema

Barb and Star go to Vista Del Mar – Trayce Gigi Field
Birds of prey – Erin Benach
Give 5 Bloods – Donna Berwick
Promising young woman – Nancy Steiner
The prom – Lou Eyrich

Excellence in period films

Emma – Alexandra Byrne
Judas and the Black Messiah – Charlese Antoinette Jones
Ma Rainey’s black ass – Ann Roth
Mank – Trish Summerville
One night in Miami – Francine Jamison-Tanchuck

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

The mandalorian: “Chapter 13: The Jedi” – Shawna Trpcic
Snowpiercer: “Access is power” – Cynthia Summers
Star Trek: Picard: “Absolute Candor” – Christine Bieselin Clark
Westworld: “Parce Domine” – Shay Cunliffe – WINNER
What we do in the shadows: “Nouveau Théâtre des Vampires” – Amanda Neale

Excellence in Contemporary Television

Emily in Paris: “Faux Amis” – Patricia Field and Marilyn Fitoussi
Euphoria: “Part 1: Rue – Problems don’t last forever” – Heidi Bivens
I can destroy you: “Social media is a great way to connect” – Lynsey Moore
Schitt’s cove: “Happy Ending” – Debra Hanson – WINNER
Heterodox: “Part 2” – Justine Seymour

Excellence in vintage television

Bridgerton: “First Water Diamond” – Ellen Mirojnick and John W. Glaser III
The crown: “Terra Nullius” – Amy Roberts
Lovecraft country: “I’m.” – Dayna pink
Lady america: “Shirley” – Bina Daigeler
The Queen’s Gambit: “Game over” – Gabriele Binder – WINNER

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

Dancing with the stars: “Night of Villains” – Daniela Gschwendtner and Steven Norman Lee
Hamilton – Paul Tazewell – WINNER
The Masked Dancer: “Premiere” – Gabrielle Letamendi and Candice Rainwater
The Masked Singer: “The semifinals” – Marina Toybina
Saturday night live: “John Mulaney / The Strokes” – Tom Broecker and Eric Justian

Excellence in short form design

Apple: Taken on iPhone by Damien Chazelle – April Napier – WINNER

The Killers Music Video: “Caution” – Samantha Kuester
Selena Gomez: “Boyfriend” Music Video – Dawn Ritz & Kenn Law
Tim Burton Short Film Themed Halloween Party – Dawn Ritz
The Weeknd: “Blinding Lights” Music Video – Ami Goodheart


Related Articles

Latest Articles