4.5 C
Friday, December 2, 2022

Hernan Diaz, Tanaïs among winners of $50,000 Kirkus Prize

NEW YORK (AP) — Hernán Díaz’s novel “Trust,” a postmodern choose on prosperity, power and reality set in the 1920s and 1930s, received the Kirkus Prize for fiction.

The awards, presented by trade publication Kirkus Testimonials, include $50,000 dollars prizes for winners in fiction, nonfiction and literature for younger readers.

On Thursday, the award’s judges cited Diaz for how he “works by using many perspectives and forms to drive the boundaries of what a novel can do.”

“What looks to commence out as an homage to Roaring ’20s novels unfolds with each and every successive layer into a advanced tale of electrical power, really like, and the character of truth of the matter,” the judges reported.

Writer and perfumer Tanaïs’s memoir “In Sensorium” gained non-fiction. The book was praised by the judges for its “daring, inventiveness, vision and lyrical eloquence”. The Youthful Readers Award went to Harmony Becker for the graphic novel “Himawari Dwelling,” which the judges honored for “its insightful exploration of perennial and emotionally resonant themes of loved ones, friendship, and id.”

Finalists integrated Nobel Laureate Olga Tokarczuk’s “The Textbooks of Jacob” in fiction and The New York Times’s “The 1619 Undertaking” e book edition in nonfiction.

– Post Prepared By @ from www.bing.com

Nicole Aniston
Nicole loves to write and works as a corporate communications expert by day. She's been working in the field for quite some time now. Her training in media studies has provided her a wide perspective from which to tackle various issues. Public relations, corporate communications, travel, entrepreneurship, insurance, and finance are just few of the many topics she's interested in covering in her work.
Latest news
Related news