11.2 C
Monday, September 26, 2022

Claire Foy and Olivia Colman raved about the Queen, whom they played in “The Crown”

Claire Foy and Olivia Colman, who played Queen Elizabeth II in the first four seasons of The Crown, shared their reflections on the experience and the legacy of his highness.

Foy spoke for the BBC at the Toronto International Film Festival, praising the Queen’s life.

Claire Foy in 2019. Photo: Reuters

Claire Foy in 2019. Photo: Reuters

I think she was an incredible monarch“, said. “She brought people together and was a massive symbol of continuity and dignity and grace.”

Foy played the Queen in the first two seasons of the popular Netflix series, covering the period from 1947 to 1964, adding that “it was an honor” to play her.

Colman, for her part, spoke to Variety magazine, where she said: “My main feeling is to think of her as a mother, grandmother and great-grandmother. I feel very honored having had a very, very small role in his story.

Olivia Colman at the 2021 Oscars. Photo: AFP

Olivia Colman at the 2021 Oscars. Photo: AFP

Colman played the Queen in seasons 3 and 4, covering from 1964 to 1976. She added that “The Queen lived her life with dignity.”

“She made a promise when she was a very young woman,” she said, “and she absolutely kept it. Everyone is impressed by what she did.”

Claire Foy

Claire Foy in "The Crown" Photo.  AP

Claire Foy in “The Crown” Photo. AP

British actress Claire Foy, for her brilliant performance, won a Golden Globe. She was known for having played the leading role in the miniseries Little Dorrit of BBC One and for her role as Anna in the film in witch time (2011).

Olivia Coleman

Olivia Colman in "The Crown."  Photo: AP

Olivia Colman in “The Crown.” Photo: AP

Throughout her career, Olivia Colman, also British, has received awards such as an Oscar by The favourite in 2018, three British Academy Television Awards, one British Academy Film Award, four British Independent Film Awards or three Golden Globe Awards.

The story of each season

  • The first season of The Crown covers the period from Elizabeth’s marriage to Philip, Duke of Edinburgh in 1947, to the disintegration of her sister Princess Margaret’s engagement to Captain Peter Townsend in 1955.
  • The second covers the period between the Suez Crisis in 1956 and the retirement of Prime Minister Harold MacMillan in 1963 and the birth of Prince Edward in 1964.
  • The third season covers the period between 1964 and 1977, including Harold Wilson’s two terms as prime minister, and introduces Camilla Shand.
  • The fourth covers 1977 to 1990 and includes Margaret Thatcher’s tenure as Prime Minister and Lady Diana Spencer’s marriage to Prince Charles.
  • The fifth and sixth seasons, which will bring the series to a close, will cover the queen’s reign in the 21st century.


Don’t Trust On this News and Website Maybe it’s Fake

Reference from clarin www.clarin.com

Latest news
Related news